About the College of Science - College of Science - University of Canterbury

About the College of Science

College of ScienceThe College of Science is headed by the Pro Vice Chancellor (Science) and comprises the School of Biological Sciences, the departments of Chemistry, Communication Disorders, Geography, Geological Sciences, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology, the Waterways Centre for Freshwater Management, and the Gateway Antarctica Research Centre.

The College of Science Office, situated in Okeover House, is the central administration office for the College.

The College has an annual turnover of $52M, 2300 students, 330 staff, and a research revenue of over $9M. It is the largest College in the University.

The College has a very broad research base including spectroscopy applied to trace analysis (SIFT), NZ’s unique ecology, the human geography of exposure to environmental chemicals, protein biochemistry, molecular biology, volcanology, the neurochemistry of psychological processes, bioactive compounds from marine fauna, Antarctica, and food chemistry and toxicology.

The College makes extensive use of the University’s four unique field stations in New Zealand as well as research facilities in Antarctica and the Nigerian rain forest. We also operate the country's leading astronomical observatory at Mount John. Other resources include cutting-edge laboratories, access to 24-hour computer labs, the Central Library and EPS - Engineering and Physical Sciences Library.

The College is home to the Biomolecular Interactions Institute (BIC), Nanostructure Engineering Science and Technology group (NEST), a key partner in the MacDiarmid Institute, one of nine New Zealand Centres of Research Excellence.

The College prides itself in underpinning its teaching with research excellence. It is commonplace for our students to be taught by leaders in their fields either from the College or as part of significant academic exchange programmes that we run with the USA and UK.

The College is proud to have some of the southern hemisphere's foremost research scientists amongst its staff.